Civil War!!! 20 Republicans Deliver Shocker To Jim Jordan 

The infighting among House Republicans intensified on Tuesday after 20 GOP House members voted against House Judiciary Chairman Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH) for House speaker.

Jordan, who became the GOP nominee after winning a secret ballot, failed to secure the 217 votes needed to become the next speaker. The Ohio lawmaker received 200 votes on the House floor, leaving 17 votes short of the needed 217 votes. The presence of Jordan supporter Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL) could have seen the Ohio lawmaker secure one more vote. Bilirakis is, however, expected to be back in the House when it holds the next speaker election. 

The 20 House Republicans who voted against Jordan include Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), Rep. Mike Lawler (R-NY), Rep. Jen Kiggans (R-VA), Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer (R-NE), Rep. Carlos Gimenez (R-FL), Rep. Don Bacon (R-NE), Rep. Steve Womack (R-AR), Rep. Mike Simpson (R-ID), Rep. John Rutherford (R-FL), Rep. Mike Kelly (R-PA), Rep. Tony Gonzales (R-TX), Rep. Kay Granger (R-TX), Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (R-FL), Rep. Ken Buck (R-CO), Rep. Victoria Spartz (R-IN), Rep. John James (R-MI), Rep. Jake Ellzey (R-TX), Rep. Nick LaLota (R-NY), Rep. Andrew Garbarino (R-NY) and Rep. Anthony D’Esposito (R-NY).

Six of the 20 House Republicans including Reps. LaMalfa, Kiggans, Lawler, Chavez-DeRemer, Gimenez and Bacon voted for former House Speaker Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA). 

McCarthy, however, voted for Jordan on Tuesday. The former speaker previously stated that he is confident that Jordan can scale through and gain the 217 votes needed to become the next speaker. 

“I don’t see a problem with him not getting there,” McCarthy said. “I think —look, people have been here a long time. We’ve now elected a speaker designee and I think people can go home and be with their family and come back. He will be able to talk to those dozen we’ll be able to get there. Steve [Scalise] only had 110. 155 [Jordan’s vote] is a lot more than 110.”