GOP Lawmakers Introduce Bill To Require American Flags To Be Made In US

A group of Republican members of Congress introduced a bill that would require flags flown on federal property be manufactured within the United States. The Make American Flags in America Act was introduced this week by several members of Congress, including Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX) and Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY).

The introduction Wednesday was timed to coincide with Flag Day.

Stefanik, a member of the Republican House leadership said in a statement that she was “proud to support their important work and ensure American flags used by the federal government are completely made in the U.S.A.!”

“That is the perseverance and strength of the American spirit, and there is no better tangible representation of this spirit than our American flag, the ultimate symbol of patriotism,” she said.

“We should be making our flags in the Land of the Free, and I’m proud to work with Rep. Stefanik to ensure every flag flying over a federal building was manufactured by Americans and made with American materials,” Cruz said.

The legislation will require all American flags “displayed on federal property or procured by federal agencies to be manufactured completely in the United States from American materials.” 

It will also require the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) to survey the labeling of flags to ensure their accuracy regarding country of origin “to ensure integrity of American-made products for consumers.” 

Currently, more than 90% of American flags are produced domestically, including 100% of those utilized by the Pentagon. However, other federal agencies are only required to use flags that are at least 50% manufactured within the United States.

Should the bill pass, flags displayed by federal agencies must be wholly American-made within two years and all federal purchases of new flags must be domestically-produced within 90 days.

The bill received nearly two dozen Republican House cosponsors. In the Senate, the proposed act received cosponsorship from Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Sen. Rick Scott (R-FL).